TSG News Banner World Map

FDA Updates Manufactured Food Regulatory Program Standards (October 2016)

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is releasing an updated version of the food safety standards outlined in the Manufactured Food Regulatory Program Standards (MFRPS). The guidance features new terms and definitions, sections, and updates to existing standards.

The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) requires FDA to establish a nationally integrated food safety system (IFSS), which involves collaboration among agencies throughout the nation at all levels to ensure public health protection. The MFRPS is comprised of ten regulatory standards that make up an essential part of IFSS. The goal of the MFRPS is to establish a unified framework for food safety by evaluating the performance of regulatory activities in the United States and determining the most effective methods to improve federal and state programs. There are currently 43 states enrolled in the program.

share button Share to LinkedIn Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Share to Google+ Share to Email

Follow Us on LinkedIn
 TSG Logo
 Homepage Link     Print this Page

Subscribe to email advisories View all TSG advisories